A Broadband and ADSL forum. BroadbanterBanter

Welcome to BroadbanterBanter.

You are currently viewing as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today.

Go Back   Home » BroadbanterBanter forum » Newsgroup Discussions » uk.telecom.broadband (UK broadband)
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

uk.telecom.broadband (UK broadband) (uk.telecom.broadband) Discussion of broadband services, technology and equipment as provided in the UK. Discussions of specific services based on ADSL, cable modems or other broadband technology are also on-topic. Advertising is not allowed.

Dead line but working broadband



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old January 25th 19, 09:11 PM posted to uk.telecom,uk.telecom.broadband
Brian Gregory[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 29
Default Dead line but working broadband

On 20/01/2019 19:28, Rodney Pont wrote:
On Sun, 20 Jan 2019 18:55:15 +0000, Brian Gregory wrote:

Thanks for the replies, it was to be back up and running this morning,
so no idea what the problem was. Very strange.


Most likely a fault somewhere between the fibre cabinet and the
exchange. Things in the fibre cabinet or in the PCP can get accidentally
disturbed when Openreach are working on another line in the same cabinet(s).


The fibre cabinet to the exchange is only fibre, no voice. That still
goes to the old cabinet via copper so it's this line that's likely to
be the problem.


I think you misread fibre cabinet as fibre.

Without FTTC broadband the twisted pair from your home goes to your PCP
where it is connected to one pair in a multi twisted pair cable that
runs onward to the exchange.

When you get FTTC broadband the connection in the PCP is broken and
diverted via a short multi twisted pair cable to the nearby fibre
cabinet (typically no more than 20 yards away). Another twisted pair in
the short multi pair cable brings the phone only part of your line back
from the fibre cabinet and is joined in the PCP to your original pair in
the multi twisted pair cable that runs to the exchange.

A fault in either cabinet can stop the phone working while the broadband
continues perfectly.


I have had no voice but good ADSL though when my line
lost an argument with a tree. The ADSL just skipped the gap with not
noticable change in speed but the voice side was dead.


Yes that can happen too.

--

Brian Gregory (in England).
  #12  
Old January 26th 19, 11:33 AM posted to uk.telecom,uk.telecom.broadband
Graham J[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11
Default Dead line but working broadband

Brian Gregory wrote:
On 20/01/2019 19:28, Rodney Pont wrote:
On Sun, 20 Jan 2019 18:55:15 +0000, Brian Gregory wrote:

Thanks for the replies, it was to be back up and running this morning,
so no idea what the problem was. Very strange.


Most likely a fault somewhere between the fibre cabinet and the
exchange. Things in the fibre cabinet or in the PCP can get accidentally
disturbed when Openreach are working on another line in the same
cabinet(s).


The fibre cabinet to the exchange is only fibre, no voice. That still
goes to the old cabinet via copper so it's this line that's likely to
be the problem.


I think you misread fibre cabinet as fibre.

Without FTTC broadband the twisted pair from your home goes to your PCP
where it is connected to one pair in a multi twisted pair cable that
runs onward to the exchange.

When you get FTTC broadband the connection in the PCP is broken and
diverted via a short multi twisted pair cable to the nearby fibre
cabinet (typically no more than 20 yards away). Another twisted pair in
the short multi pair cable brings the phone only part of your line back
from the fibre cabinet and is joined in the PCP to your original pair in
the multi twisted pair cable that runs to the exchange.

A fault in either cabinet can stop the phone working while the broadband
continues perfectly.


I have had no voice but good ADSL though when my line
lost an argument with a tree. The ADSL just skipped the gap with no
noticable change in speed but the voice side was dead.


Yes that can happen too.


Round here the PCP (Primary Cross-Connection Point) and the Fibre
Cabinet are combined into one green box. A couple of these were
installed in the village last autumn. Before their installation the
twisted pairs ran directly to the exchange, a total of about 6km, so our
ADSL was treacly.

In both cases the new green cabinet was installed on the other side of
the road to the duct carrying the copper pairs. So a trench was dug
across the road, the existing multi-pair cable cut and joined to two
short runs of multi-pair cable crossing the road, and these cables
terminated in the PCP section of the green cabinet.

Behind a separate door inside the green cabinet there was another patch
frame for the fibre connections, and for those customers requiring FTTC
patch wires of less than a metre length ran from the PCP section to the
fibre section.

Yet another door gave access to the power supply section with a battery
and UPS.

At one location there were several multi-pair cables, and one of these
serving the middle part of the village was not cut and re-routed across
the road to the green cabinet. So when those customers wanted FTTC the
Openreach technician could not find their circuits on the PCP in the
green cabinet that his documentation said would be there. Endless
confusion while the poor technician stood in the rain shouting to the
person in the Indian support centre, for up to an hour at a time. It
was resolved after several months - I don't know whether the correct
cable was identified cut and rerouted, or whether one or two customers
were moved to an alternative copper pair from one of the cables that had
been installed correctly. The technicians I spoke to said that
incomplete wiring like this was in fact a fairly common fault!


--
Graham J
  #13  
Old January 27th 19, 10:50 AM posted to uk.telecom,uk.telecom.broadband
Brian Gregory[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 29
Default Dead line but working broadband

On 25/01/2019 20:11, Brian Gregory wrote:
A fault in either cabinet can stop the phone working while the broadband
continues perfectly.


I think it's worth me adding to that to say that AIUI faults in PCP are
probably much more common because the PCP is opened and worked on by
engineers much more often.


--

Brian Gregory (in England).
 




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BT line dead but ADSL ok.. Ivor Jones uk.telecom.broadband (UK broadband) 19 May 31st 08 11:13 PM
Phone line dead adsl still works?? Mr-Reece uk.telecom.broadband (UK broadband) 7 October 12th 04 11:19 PM
BT Dead line & ADSL DH uk.telecom.broadband (UK broadband) 1 June 21st 04 04:25 PM
Phone line dead - MUST be a fault with your equipment!! Dave uk.telecom.broadband (UK broadband) 2 May 18th 04 12:05 AM
Phone dead but ADSL still works?? Craigy uk.telecom.broadband (UK broadband) 5 December 13th 03 04:59 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 2.4.0
Copyright 2004-2019 BroadbanterBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.